Search our digital collections using ‘Find Databases’ on Primo

Primo will tell you about the hundreds of thousands of digital resources available through the University and will link you to one of over 200 different online academic databases to let you read the material that you’re interested in.

Did you know, though, that if you go straight to the website of specific academic databases you can perform even more powerful searches, often looking across every word contained in every item within that collection? A simple search in Primo is the best place to start a piece of research but using the Find Databases option is the next step, improving the quality of any academic research that you do.

These databases often focus on specific subject areas, meaning that your searching becomes more focused and efficient, saving you time looking and giving you more time to read and write. See below for details of how to use the Find Databases feature in Primo to link straight to digital collections best suited to your area of study.

find-dbs-screen-2

Use the Find Databases option at the top of Primo. Please remember to log in with your username and password.

find-dbs-screen-1

You can search for specific databases or you can filter by subject area. It is also possible to browse an alphabetical listing of all databases available.

Once you have identified an academic database that you wish to search, simply click on its name to link out to it. You may be asked to log in again.

Please note that it is not possible to search across multiple databases at once using the Find Databases option. You must link out to each database that you are interested in and search them individually. This method will allow you to perform the most powerful searches available to you.

For further guidance on using Primo please see our short videos on its various features. For guidance on accessing online resources, particularly when off campus, please see our Library Guide on Accessing Electronic Information and the Toolkit’s section on Remote Access.

Ewan Grant, e.grant@abdn.ac.uk

Advertisements

Information Skills workshops for PhD researchers: places still available

The Library is here to help all postgraduate researchers as they begin, or continue their in-depth research, with a short series of Information Skills workshops designed to their needs.

The workshops will take place on the 11th, 12th and 13th of June and will help you understand the resources available to you as researchers here at the University of Aberdeen, and how to get the best out of them.

UL_library_workshops_Janet1psd

There are three workshops on offer, each lasting three hours:

  • Literature searching – Part 1: Getting started
  • Literature searching – Part 2: Using databases
  • Literature searching – Part 3: Managing your references using RefWorks*

Across the three workshops we will look at:

  • Planning your search
  • Looking for books: using Primo and e-books
  • Databases of academic literature
  • Getting the best out of Google
  • Managing your references with RefWorks
  • Formatting Word documents with in-text citations and bibliographies

*IMPORTANT NOTE: The workshop focusing on the management of references
(Part 3) is not suitable for research postgraduates in the School of Law, as the software used does not support the OSCOLA referencing style required for legal theses.

To find out more, and to book onto the different workshops please visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Library Information Skills classes.

We look forward to seeing you at the workshops!

Library workshops for taught postgraduates

Once the exams are over, many taught postgraduate students will be turning their attention to their dissertations or projects and the Library is here to help you with a series of workshops that cover the research process from choosing where and how to search for high quality sources to ensuring that your referencing is as good as it can be.

UL_library_workshops_Janet1psd

There are three workshops on offer and they will be taking place from the 20th to the 22nd of May. We call them Information Skills Refreshers as they aim to remind you of the best ways to use our resources and services as you embark on such a large piece of work. The three workshops are:

  • Part 1 – Starting your dissertation research. Covers planning, using Primo to find print and electronic books and how to get the best out of search engines such as Google
  • Part 2 – Going further with your dissertation research. Covers how to identify, access and use the most suitable academic databases to find research level material in your subject. Also introduces RefWorks, a software to help you manage your references and write your dissertation or project.
  • Part 3 – Managing your dissertation research. Carries on from Part 2, going into more detail on referencing and using RefWorks, as well as touching on how best to avoid possible accusations of plagiarism.

PLEASE NOTE: RefWorks is of limited use to those using Footnote referencing styles, such as OSCOLA.  Subject specialists from the library will be on hand to give support and advice.

To find out more about the workshops and to book a place please visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Library Information Skills. Be sure to read the important information about each course before booking.

 

Information Skills workshops for PhD researchers : places still available

The Library is here to help all postgraduate researchers as they begin, or continue their in-depth research, with a short series of Information Skills workshops designed to their needs. With so much academic literature available through the University of Aberdeen, these workshops will give you the confidence and skills to locate and manage the materials you need.

The workshops will take place on the 5th, 6th and 7th of February and will help you understand the resources available to you as researchers here at the University of Aberdeen, and how to get the best out of them.

There are three workshops on offer, each lasting two hours:

  • Literature searching – Part 1: Getting started
  • Literature searching – Part 2: Using databases
  • Literature searching – Part 3: Managing your references using RefWorks*

Across the three workshops we will look at:

  • Planning your search
  • Looking for books: using Primo and e-books
  • Databases of academic literature
  • Getting the best out of Google
  • Managing your references with RefWorks
  • Formatting Word documents with in-text citations and bibliographies

*IMPORTANT NOTE: The workshop focusing on the management of references

(Part 3) is not suitable for research postgraduates in the School of Law, as the software used does not support the OSCOLA referencing style required for legal theses.

To find out more, and to book onto the different workshops please visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Library Information Skills classes.

We look forward to seeing you at the workshops!

Exporting to RefWorks – difficulties

Many users are experiencing difficulties today (Tuesday 2 February) exporting records into RefWorks from a range of databases. This is occurring at universities across the UK and the problem is under investigation by RefWorks. If at all possible we would suggest saving your search strategy or results by other means e.g. save to list, so that you can export to RefWorks later, once the difficulty has been resolved.

Susan McCourt, s.mccourt@abdn.ac.uk