Scopus and ScienceDirect currently experiencing access issues from off-campus

It is not currently possible to access Scopus or ScienceDirect from off-campus in the usual way, using Shibboleth login. It is still possible, though, to access these two online resources via our VDI. You can find information on using the VDI in the Learners’ Toolkit.

Unfortunately, personalisation features in these databases are also not working correctly, whether you are on-campus or off-campus.

This intermittent access issue is also being experienced by other Universities. Scopus and ScienceDirect are currently investigating this and hope to resolve the problem soon. We apologise for any inconvenience caused while this is being rectified.

Advertisements

Free Library Skills workshops to help you Find it Fast!

fif front slide cropped.fw

At the Library we believe you should be spending the majority of your time reading materials and not looking for them, so we have a range of workshops to help you learn how to get your hands on the best books, articles, reports and other information in the shortest time possible.

These are our Find it Fast! workshops, and they will be running between February 20 and March 8 to help all undergraduate and taught postgraduate students navigate the library landscape, which can at times seem filled with so much choice.

They are held over lunch time in The Sir Duncan Rice Library and are a great introduction to the services and resources we provide and the best ways in which you can make use of them. They cover:

  • Using Google cleverly to get you to the information you need more quickly.
  • Using the many online databases which we subscribe to. They contain important resources which you just cannot find by searching in Google!
  • How to search for the hundreds of thousands of electronic books which we have access to.

Invest one hour of your time over lunch to learn tips and techniques that will repay you with time saved when searching for the materials you need for assignments and exams!

To find out more and to view the full list of Find it Fast! workshops on offer please go to www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and search for Library Information Skills courses.

Information Skills workshops for PhD researchers now open for booking

The Library is here to help all postgraduate researchers as they begin, or continue their in-depth research with a series of Information Skills Workshops designed to their needs. With so much academic literature available through the University of Aberdeen, these workshops will give you the confidence and skills to locate and manage the materials you need.

The workshops will take place at the start of February 2018 and will help you understand the resources available to you as researchers here at the University of Aberdeen, and how to get the best out of them. Read on for further information on the workshops. To book workshops visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Library Information Skills classes.

There are three workshops on offer, each lasting two hours:

  • Literature searching – Part 1: Getting started
  • Literature searching – Part 2: Using databases
  • Literature searching – Part 3: Managing your references using RefWorks*

Across the three workshops we will look at:

  • Planning your search
  • Looking for books: using Primo and E-books
  • Databases of academic literature
  • Getting the best out of Google
  • Managing your references with RefWorks
  • Formatting Word documents with in-text citations and bibliographies

 *IMPORTANT NOTE: The workshop focusing on the management of references (Part 3) is not suitable for research postgraduates in the School of Law, as the software used does not support the OSCOLA referencing style required for legal theses.

We look forward to seeing you at the workshops.

Information Skills Workshops for PhD researchers now open for booking

The Library is here to help all postgraduate researchers as they begin, or continue, their in-depth research with a series of Information Skills Workshops designed to their needs. With so much academic literature available through the University of Aberdeen these workshops will give you the confidence and skills to locate and manage the materials you need.

These workshops will take place in November 2016 and will help you understand the resources available to you as researchers here at the University of Aberdeen, and how to get the best out of them. Read on for further information on the workshops. To book workshops visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Library Information Skills classes.

There are three workshops on offer, each lasting two hours:

  • Literature searching – Part 1: Getting started
  • Literature searching – Part 2: Using databases
  • Literature searching – Part 3: Managing your references using RefWorks*

Across the three workshops we will look at:

  • Planning your search
  • Looking for books: using Primo and E-books
  • Databases of academic literature
  • Getting the best out of Google
  • Managing your references with RefWorks
  • Formatting Word documents with in-text citations and bibliographies

Feedback from those who have previously attended these sessions have been positive and they highlight how after attending they felt better equipped to find and manage the materials required for research. One quote from a previous attendee nicely sums up what we are aiming for with these sessions:

“I will definitely be searching smarter than before”

Our aim is that after you attend you will also leave feeling this way.

*IMPORTANT NOTE: The workshop focusing on the management of references (Part 3) is not suitable for research postgraduates in the School of Law, as the software used does not support the OSCOLA referencing style required for legal theses.

To find out more, and to book onto the different workshops please visit www.abdn.ac.uk/coursebooking and look for Information Skills classes. We look forward to seeing you at the workshops.

MAINTENANCE: Web of Science – Sunday April 10

The Web of Science database may be intermittently unavailable this coming Sunday, April 10 due to systems maintenance. The maintenance window is 13:00 to 16:00 BST.

There may be occasional outages to Web of Science throughout this time and it is expected that there will be two instances of downtime, each 15 minutes in length.

They apologise to users for any disruption and inconvenience that may be due as a result of the required maintenance work.

Please contact Web of Science Service for UK Education Support by emailing webofscience@jisc.ac.uk should you have any queries or require assistance.

 

MAINTENANCE: Selection of Humanities databases will be unavailable this weekend

A selection of Humanities databases will be undergoing vital maintenance this coming Saturday, April 2, and will therefore not be available for a number of hours. It is expected that this work will begin at 10pm BST and last for eight hours.

The databases effected will be:

Early European Books

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

The John Johnson Collection

Patrologia Latina

ProQuest, the provider of these databases, apologise for the inconvenience this may cause to some students and staff here at the University of Aberdeen, but we have been informed that this is important maintenance required to ensure the service becomes more reliable into the future.

MAINTENANCE: Emerald Insight to undergo maintenance Tuesday March 22

We have received notification that Emerald Insight, one of our providers of numerous e-journals will be undergoing essential maintenance tomorrow, Tuesday March 22. This work will impact upon some of the functionality on their site, but you should still be able to gain access in “read only” mode.

This maintenance is due to begin at 08.00 GMT, March 22, and is expected to last for up to 12 hours. The following features will not be fully functional during this time:

  • Search
  • Adding Publications as favourites
  • Alert subscriptions
  • Any changes to ‘My Account’ and ‘Institutional Account’
  • Registration

Should you access the website during this time, you will receive a notification that the site functionality is temporary unavailable within your browser.

The majority of the titles available through Emerald Insight are within the following disciplines:

  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Management
  • Real Estate
  • Taxation

Fortunately, many, but not all, of the titles on Emerald Insight are also available through the ProQuest platform, on such databases as ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting and Tax, and others. So, when linking out to a journal article from Primo tomorrow check to see if it is being provided by Emerald Insight, and if it is also provided by another supplier please select that alternative.

Emerald, and ourselves, apologise for any inconvenience this may cause, but the maintenance is vital.

 

Ewan Grant